ELHA

Design Language

The layout for a horizontal milling machine for our client ELHA followed the design language defined by Squareone. The primary goal was to establish a recognisable product family that conveys a high-quality and factual impression while following a consistent design.

The main constitutive criteria of the black clip that surrounds the machines from the sides and connects them visually is to be found in all ELHA layouts. By doing so, the clip emphasises the solid impression of the milling machine.

Large white steel panel sheets create a lightness that is strengthened even more by the huge glazed facade. Blue as the corporate colour is picked up in the details and allows for exciting touches while the machinery area is strictly separated from the user area.

The product family’s modular composition follows a strictly defines size of the steel panel sheets and thus allows for simple scaling of the machines. The layout has been rewarded with the iF-Award 2016 in the category “Industry/Skilled Trades”.

Project Achievements

Strategy Development Design Product Analysis Market Analysis

ELHA

Designsprache

Dieser Entwurf einer Horizontal-Fräsmaschine für die Firma ELHA orientiert sich an der von Squareone festgelegten Designsprache. Ziel war es, eine Produktfamilie mit Wiedererkennungswert zu etablieren, die einen kompetenten, qualitativ hochwertigen und sachlichen Eindruck vermittelt und dabei einer einheitlichen Gestaltung folgt.

Das zentrale Gestaltungsmerkmal der schwarzen Klammer, die die Maschinen seitlich umschließt und optisch zusammenhält, findet sich in allen Entwürfen für ELHA wieder. Die Klammer unterstreicht den soliden Eindruck der Fräsmaschine.
Große, weiße Stahlblech-Paneele erzeugen eine Leichtigkeit, die noch durch die großen Fensterfronten verstärkt wird. Die Firmenfarbe Blau wird in Details aufgegriffen und setzt spannende Akzente, der Maschinenbereich wird klar vom Benutzerbereich getrennt.

Der modulare Aufbau der Produktfamilie folgt einer fest definierten Größe der Stahlblechpaneele und ermöglicht so eine einfache Skalierung der Maschinen.

Der Entwurf wurde mit dem iF-Award 2016 im Bereich Industry / Skilled Trades ausgezeichnet.

Project Achievements

Design Strategieentwicklung Produktanalyse Marktanalyse