Remmert

Design Language

We developed an integrated design language for the hardware product portfolio of Friedrich Remmert GmbH on this project. In this case, the design language combines insights from a sound analysis of portfolio and competition with the most important characteristics of Remmert’s brand communication.

The design proposal defines the design features of both products and product line. This includes look-and-feel, proportion, usability, communication, materiality, chromaticity amongst others.
But we not only looked at the outer appearance but also at the principle functions and the basic conceptional requirements. The constructive detailing of the assembly groups has been developed in cooperation with the construction department of Remmert and converged into applicable production strategies in process reliable fashion.

In the end, the final design language has been exemplary applied to the „Basic Tower”.

From Brand Identity to the product

The basis for the development of the design language were all existing documents from the company Remmert - starting with existing products, including OEM-Variations, sales documents and finally the Style Guide, which describes the handling of print media. At the same time, we created a benchmarking of direct and indirect competition and defined a target for the new design.

Priority One was to strengthen the brand identity as well as a logical usage of full and part casing. Design should improve products and their functions. Therefor, a housing may not cause functional issues. The usage of the brand color magenta was implemented decent, yet compelling and therefor reinforces the brand identity of the products.

Project Achievements

Design Market Analysis Technology & Manufacturing

Remmert

Designsprache

Bei diesem Projekt wurde eine einheitliche Designsprache für das Hardware-Produktportfolio der Friedrich Remmert GmbH entwickelt. Die Designsprache vereint dabei Erkenntnisse aus einer fundierten Portfolio- und Wettbewerbsanalyse mit den wichtigsten Merkmalen der Markenkommunikation von Remmert.

Die Designkonzeption definiert die gestalterischen Eigenschaften der Produkte bzw. der Produktlinie. Dazu zählen unter anderem Anmutung, Proportion, Usability, Kommunikation, Materialität und Farbigkeit.
Doch es wurde nicht nur die äußere Erscheinung, sondern auch die prinzipiellen Funktionen und die wesentlichen konzeptionellen Anforderungen betrachtet. Die konstruktive Detaillierung der Baugruppen wurde zusammen mit der Konstruktion von Remmert entwickelt und prozesssicher in umsetzbare Fertigungsstrategien übersetzt.
Die finale Designsprache wurde schließlich exemplarisch auf den „Basic Tower“ appliziert.

Von der Brand Identity zum Produkt

Grundlage für die Entwicklung der Designsprache bildeten alle vorhandenen Unterlagen der Firma Remmert - angefangen mit den bestehenden Produkten über OEM-Varianten, Verkaufsunterlagen bis hin zum Styleguide, der den Umgang mit Printmedien beschreibt. Gleichzeitig erstellten wir ein Benchmarking des direkten und indirekten Wettbewerbs und definierten eine Zielsetzung für das neue Design.

Oberste Prämisse war die Stärkung der Markenidentität sowie der logische Einsatz von Voll- und Teilverkleidung. Design soll Produkte und deren Funktion verbessern. Daher durften Verkleidungen kein funktionales Hindernis bedeuten. Der Einsatz der Hausfarbe Magenta wurde dezent, aber stringent eingesetzt und stärkt dadurch die Markenidentität der Produkte.

Project Achievements

Design Marktanalyse Technologie & Fertigung