Obela

Packaging Design

Obela, the global player and market leader for hummus in the USA, Canada, Mexico and Australia, planned a product launch in the central European market. Since the brand operates from the USA, they were in need for a reliable partner who
knows the German market and is capable of researching and identifying the requirements of the clients regarding a product like hummus.

Apart from a market analysis, the two-phased project included extensive sourcing of current, not trademarked packaging within a restricted requirements catalogue from Obela (PepsiCo-Strauss Joint Venture) which we ordered incognito. We checked these on appearance, filling volume and ullage and compared them with technical and monetary data in an Excel chart. Thanks to this data and a recommendation from Squareone, the Obela team was able to make a quick decision – the
development of individual packaging.

Based on the Australian packaging, we developed the new form by using and comparing various data predetermined by Obela. The result was a product that especially fits the German market and the client’s requirements towards the product.

Project Achievements

Product Development Design Design Engineering

Obela

Packaging Design

Der Global Player Obela, der den Hummusmarkt in den USA, Kanada, Mexiko und Australien führt, plante eine Produkteinführung im Mitteleuropäischen Markt. Da die Marke von den USA aus agiert, benötigte sie einen zuverlässigen Partner, der den deutschen Markt kennt und die Anforderungen der Kunden an das Produkt Hummus ermitteln und recherchieren kann.

Das zweiphasige Projekt umfasste neben der Marktanalyse ein umfassendes Sourcing bestehender, nicht geschützter Verpackungen innerhalb eines abgesteckten Anforderungskatalogs von Obela (PepsiCo-Strauss Joint Venture), die wir inkognito bestellten, auf Optik, Füllvolumen und Kopfraum prüften und zusammen mit technischen und monetären Daten in einer Exceltabelle verglichen. Auf Grund der Daten und einer Empfehlung von Squareone konnte das Obela-Team schnell eine Entscheidung treffen - und zwar für die Entwicklung eines individuellen Packagings.

Angelehnt an die australische Verpackung entwickelten wir die neue Form unter Anwendung und Abgleich mehrerer von Obela vorgegebener Daten. Herausgekommen ist ein Produkt, das ganz besonders auf dem deutschen Markt ist und zu den Anforderungen des Kunden an das Produkt passt.

Project Achievements

Product Development Design Design Engineering