Stahlwille

Product Development

Goal of the project was to develop a new design language for Stahlwille and transfer it onto the product series of torque wrenches. The product development first took place for the mechanical and digital torque wrench.

The design followed the basic idea of a bracket that spread across the display and runs into a chamfer along the handle up to the handle end. The frame of the display is the shaping element. The display frame dynamically slopes towards the tool head. Due to an offset in the frame the display is protected from damage. The tool’s edging on the other hand is rounded down and therefore adapts itself perfectly to the palm allowing pressure to be applied.

During the product development parting lines, demoldability and material thickness will be defined for an ideally realistic and feasible result.

Design Language

A design language can be developed for an overall portfolio as well as for a new product series. With tools it’s extremely important to consistently design central design elements, colours, shapes and functional components allowing for the consumer to recognise the connection of the products within a series on the one hand and on the other hand create a connection to the brand without having to keep the corporate identity in mind.

Project Achievements

Design Product Optimisation Consulting

Stahlwille

Designsprachenentwicklung

Ziel des Projektes war es, eine neue Designsprache für Stahlwille zu entwickeln und diese auf die Produktserie der Drehmomentschraubenschlüssel zu übertragen. Die Produktentwicklung erfolgte zunächst für den mechanischen und den digitalen Drehmomentschlüssel.

Die Gestaltung folgt der Grundidee einer Klammer, die sich über das Display zieht und entlang des Griffes bis zum Griffabschluss in einer Fase ausläuft. Formgebendes Element ist der Rahmen des Displays. Der Displayrahmen fällt dynamisch Richtung Werkzeugkopf ab. Durch einen Versatz im Rahmen ist das Display vor Beschädigungen geschützt. Der Abschluss des Werkzeugs ist dagegen abgerundet und passt sich somit der Handinnenfläche perfekt an, sodass hier Druck ausgeübt werden kann.

In der Produktentwicklung werden insbesondere Trennfugen, Entformbarkeit und Materialstärke definiert für ein möglichst realitätsnahes und umsetzbares Ergebnis.

Designsprache

Eine Designsprache kann sowohl für das gesamte Portfolio entwickelt werden als auch für eine neue Produktserie. Bei Werkzeugen ist es besonders wichtig, zentrale Gestaltungselemente, Farben, Formen und Funktionskomponenten, konsistent zu gestalten, sodass der Endkunde einerseits den Zusammenhang der Produkte aus der Serie erkennt und andererseits den Bezug zur Marke herstellt, ohne dass er auf die Corporate Identity achten muss.

Project Achievements

Design Produktentwicklung Beratung