TENTE

Product Development

Over the years we have been asked to support the development team of the world famous roller and castor manufacturer TENTE every now and then. During various projects we have been analysing, structuring, developing and designing – simply the classic process of product development. A conceptional project has been the development of casters for hospital and nursing beds. In a segment that is traditionally dominated by steel casters, our casters had to react to the increased design demands with their quality of design. Further, the design had to be aligned with the high hygiene standards in hospitals.

Our solution has been a bended string protection that stops dirt-collecting edges on the inside of the caster due to its low tolerance. The soft edges also protect patients from injuries, for example hitting the casters with bare feet.

Rollers in various fields

When we developed „Ariana“, our priority was to design a roller that could fulfill the extreme requirements for airline trolleys. We used hight-strength plastic instead of the usual material aluminum and therefor could save weight while increasing the strength value. The lateral wheel guides prevent wedging when withdrawing from the galley compartments.

Also by the use of plastics, a lasting and cost-neutral adaption of the coloring for the trolley design and therefor a continuous CD is possible.

Project Achievements

Product Development Innovation Development Market Analysis

TENTE

Produktentwicklung

Im Laufe der Jahre haben wir immer wieder das Entwicklungsteam des weltweit bekannten Rollenherstellers TENTE unterstützen können. Bei diversen Projekten haben wir analysiert, strukturiert, entwickelt und gestaltet - der klassische Produktentwicklungsprozess eben. Ein konzeptionelles Projekt war die Entwicklung von Lenkrollen für Kranken- und Pflegebetten. In einem Segment, das normalerweise durch Stahlrollen dominiert wird, mussten die Rollen durch ihre Gestaltungsqualität auf die gestiegenen Designansprüche reagieren. Die Gestaltung musste darüber hinaus auch auf die hohen Hygienestandards in Krankenhäusern abgestimmt sein.

Unsere Lösung war ein gewölbter Fadenschutz, der durch seine geringen Toleranzen Schmutzkanten und -nester im Inneren der Rolle unterbindet. Die weichen Kanten schützen außerdem Patienten vor Verletzungen, wenn sie zum Beispiel mit nackten Füßen an die Rolle stoßen.

Rollen in den unterschiedlichsten Bereichen

Als wir „Ariana“ entwickelt haben, lag die Priorität auf einer Rolle, die dem extremen Einsatz an Trolleys im Airlinebereich gewachsen war. Durch den Ersatz des bisherigen Werkstoffes Aluminium durch hochfeste Kunststoffe konnte eine deutliche Gewichtsersparnis bei gleichzeitiger Verbesserung der Festigkeitswerte erzielt werden. Die seitlichen Radführungen verhindern ein Verkeilen beim Herausziehen aus den Galleycompartmens.

Ebenfalls durch die Verwendung von Kunststoffen ist nun eine dauerhafte und kostenneutrale Anpassung der Farbgebung an die Gestaltung der Trolleys und somit eine durchgängiges C.D. möglich.

Project Achievements

Produktentwicklung Innovationsentwicklung Marktanalyse