Waeco

Strategy Development

We’ve been reworking the extensive product range of mobile power supply units for WAECO GmbH. Besides establishing a platform respectively a system strategy, every single products was functionally improved. That’s how details like interface interpretation, cable management or transport could be optimised for user demands.

Due to the standardisation of various system components, the biennial cooperation had a positive impact on the production and logistic costs and left a lasting impression of the range’s design.

The perfect design language

At Squareone, good design is only half of the job – we are also looking for a cost-efficient yet high-quality production of products. With WAECO the core was in the modular aluminum profile holding varying and adaptable adaptors.

The series of large sinus inverted rectifiers is the base for the extensive development of a WAECO design language. Insertions on the inside provide moulds for varying circuit board layouts inside the triple stack. The outside profile holds bases and wall brackets as well as an intelligent multiple socket.
Profiles can be made shorter or longer for products of different size. The design of plastic housing – e.g. the LighterPlug – adapt the profile’s characteristic ribs, not only offering visual advantages but also minimising a potential overheating of the product.

Project Achievements

Design Engineering Strategy Development Technology & Manufacturing Product Analysis

Waeco

Strategieentwicklung

Für die WAECO GmbH überarbeiteten wir das umfangreiche Produktsortiment mobiler Stromversorgungsgeräte. Neben der Festlegung einer Plattform- bzw. Systemstrategie wurde jedes Produkt funktional verbessert. So konnten Details wie die Schnittstellenauslegung, das Kabelmanagement und der Transport für die Ansprüche der Nutzer optimiert werden.
Die Zusammenarbeit über einen Zeitraum von zwei Jahren wirkte sich durch die Vereinheitlichung zahlreicher Systemkomponenten positiv auf die Fertigungs- und Logistikkosten aus und prägte nachhaltig das Design der Produktreihe.

Die perfekte Designlanguage

Für Squareone ist gutes Design nur die Hälfte der Miete - wir wollen auch, dass Produkte kostengünstig aber dennoch hochwertig produziert werden können. Im Falle von Waeco lag der Kern im modularen Aluminiumprofil, das unterschiedliche, auch individualisierbare Wechseleinsätze aufnimmt.

Die Serie der großen Sinuswechselrichter stellt den Grundstein dar für die umfangreiche Waeco Designsprachenentwicklung. Einschübe im Inneren bieten Führungen für unterschiedliche Platinenlayouts im triple stack. Das Aussenprofil nimmt Füße und Wandhalterungen auf, sowie eine intelligente Mehrfachsteckdose.

Für Produkte in anderen Größen können die Profile kürzer oder länger geschnitten werden. Das Design von Kunststoffgehäusen, wie beispielsweise der LighterPlug, adaptieren charakteristischen Rippen der Profile, die nicht nur gestalterische Vorteile bringen, sondern auch ein Überhitzen der Produkte minimiert.

Project Achievements

Design Engineering Strategieentwicklung Technologie & Fertigung Produktanalyse