Donaldson

UI/UX

The new industrial dryer should be the first one on the market with a real user interface.

With the help of an interface concept, Squareone has developed a meaningful structure with flat planes, which is initially used to check the completeness and logic and later as the basis for intercase development.

Since the interface is only used when necessary, the design must be particularly easy to understand. Therefor, it is based on Android and OS systems, but also uses independent, graphical function layouts which are product-specific. These layouts reflect the hardware in the design of the interface.

Squareone relied on the program Sketch for the craftmanship of the design. This enabled a direct transfer of the elements and screens to a programmer, who did not have to re-construct any elements by Squareone. For visualization and verification, Squareone has built and presented several functions in the plug-in Marvel.

Standard GUI - Tests and prototyping for the Standard GUI

The GUI conception (Graphical User Interface) occurred during the complete development. It was mostly about designing all three elements – standard GUI, super plus and the app – as constantly as possible. This design line became a major advantage of the new Donaldson dehydrator since the customer was offered a low-priced design without any degradation. The 2D-view supplies information on cartouche level, cable and mode. Complex adjustments can either be carried out via the app or with the help of a Donaldson technician.

Furthermore, Squareone was able to crucially support Donaldson on developing and optimising their hardware. We did researching on the best possible way of producing the simple, based on single-colour LED lights technology and carried out intensive testing of covering and light transmission.

Squareone’s support to Donaldson most importantly meant development relief in a field completely new to the company.

Project Achievements

UI+UX Design

Donaldson

UI/UX

Der neue Industrietrockner von Donaldson Filtration sollte als erster auf dem Markt mit einem echten User Interface ausgestattet werden.

Squareone hat mit Hilfe einer Interfacekonzeption eine sinnvolle Struktur mit flachen Ebenen entwickelt, die zunächst zur Überprüfung der Vollständigkeit und Logik und später als Basis der Interfaceentwicklung dient.

Da das Interface nur bei Bedarf genutzt wird, muss das Design besonders einfach zu verstehen sein. Deshalb orientiert es sich an Android und OS Systemen, verwendet aber auch eigenständige, grafische Funktionsdarstellungen, die produktspezifisch sind. Hier spiegelt sich der Aufbau und das Design der Hardware im Interface wider.

Bei der handwerklichen Aufbereitung des Designs griff Squareone auf das Programm Sketch zurück. Dadurch war es möglich, Elemente und Screens direkt an den Programmierer zu übergeben, die dieser nicht neu konstruieren musste. Dies beschleunigte die Entwicklungsarbeit. Zur Visualisierung und Überprüfung wurden von Squareone mehrere Funktionen im Plug-In Marvel aufgebaut und präsentiert.

Ganzheitliche Produktgestaltung - Tests und Prototyping für die analoge GUI

Die GUI Konzeption (Graphical User Interface) ist im Zuge der Gesamtentwicklung entstanden. Dabei ging es hauptsächlich darum, alle drei Elemente - Standard GUI, Superplus und APP - so konstant wie möglich zu gestalten. Diese Designlinie wurde zu einer wichtigen Stärke des neuen Donaldson Trockners, da der Kunde sich für ein preiswertes Design ohne Qualitätsverlust entscheiden kann. Die 2D-Ansicht bietet Informationen zum Kartuschenstand, Zyklus und Modus. Komplexere Einstellungen können wahlweise über die App oder durch einen Donaldson Techniker vorgenommen werden.

Darüber hinaus konnte Squareone Donaldson ganz entscheidend bei der Entwicklung und Optimierung der Hardware weiterhelfen. Wir recherchierten die bestmögliche Herstellung des einfachen, auf einfarbigen LEDs basierende Technologie und führten Tests zur Abdeckung und Lichtübertragung durch.

Die Unterstützung von Squareone bedeuteten für Donaldson vor allem Entwicklungsentlastung in einem für den Kunden neuen Gebiet.

Project Achievements

UI+UX Design